North and Central Asia

With the Russian Federation assuming membership of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (28 March 1947), Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan became members of the Commission on 31 July 1992, Armenia on 26 July 1994 and Georgia on 25 July 2000.

All of these countries are economies in transition and seven are landlocked.

General Assembly, Economic and Social Council and Commission resolutions provide mandates for the work of the secretariat in North and Central Asia. The work of the United Nations in each country is governed by their respective United Nations Development Assistance Framework.