Skip to main content

Bangkok - 20 July 2020

News Number: N/09/2020

While countries around the world have been struggling to contain coronavirus, how can they continue to promote blue recovery (sustainable ocean-based economy/blue economy) in the overall efforts to recover and revitalize economies? ESCAP Executive Secretary Ms. Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana will join distinguished speakers and share Asia-Pacific perspectives at a high-level policy dialogue hosted by the Ocean Policy Research Institute of the Sasakawa Peace Foundation, Nippon Foundation and the Economist Group, in commemoration of Japan’s National Day of Ocean.

What: Webinar on “Ensuring a robust ‘blue’ recovery in Asia and the Pacific”

When: Thursday, 23 July 2020, 5pm JST / 9am BST / 10am CET

Who:

  • H.E. Tommy E. Remengesau, Jr. President, Republic of Palau
  • Mr. Yohei Sasakawa, Chairman, Nippon Foundation
  • Dr. Atsushi Sunami, President, Sasakawa Peace Foundation/President, Ocean Policy Research Institute of SPF
  • H.E. Mr. Edhy Prabowo, Minister for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, Indonesia
  • Ms. Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana, United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Secretary of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
  • Mr. Tatsuhiko Kashimura, Managing Director, Refinverse,Inc.
  • Mr. Charles Goddard Economist Asia Pacific Editor

For more information and to register:

https://www.spf.org/en/opri/event/20200723.html

https://worldoceansummit.economist.com/webinars/blue-recovery-series-eng/

Print this article

Media Enquiries

Strategic Communications and Advocacy Section +66 2 288-1865 [email protected]
RELATED SDGs