Regional Workshop on “Innovative Technology Applications and Infrastructure for SDGs” and Tenth session of the SPECA Working Group on Knowledge-based Development

4 Jul 2018 to 5 Jul 2018
Baku, Azerbaijan

United Nations Special Programme for the Economies of Central Asia (SPECA) was established by the Tashkent Declaration on 26 March 1998 and marks 20th anniversary of SPECA in 2018. Current members are Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.
Every year annual SPECA Governing Council and Economic Forum is held in one of SPECA countries. They aim to facilitate regional economic cooperation in Central Asia and the integration of the participating countries in the world economy. SPECA has six areas of work. As one of them, the Working Group on Knowledge-based Development (WG-KBD) provides policy makers with opportunities to review the progress and explore regional cooperation for the implementation of SDGs. The ninth session of the SPECA WG on KBD was held in Bishkek on 23 July 2017, hosted by the Government of Kyrgyzstan.