ASEAN’s Future ICT Leaders Awarded Scholarship to Explore the Role of ICT in Socio-economic Development

Twenty promising undergraduate students from seven ASEAN member countries will begin their scholarships to study information and communications technology (ICT) for socio-economic development at Daejeon University (DJU) in the Republic of Korea, on Tuesday, 1 April, 2008.

The students will start tomorrow the orientation phase of the 2008 International College Student Exchange Programme. The exchange programme is a collaboration between the ASEAN University Network (AUN) and DJU, with technical support from the United Nations Asian and Pacific Training Centre for Information and Communication Technology (UN-APCICT). It aims to enhance the knowledge of ICT among college level students; and promote closer ICT collaboration between ASEAN and the Republic of Korea, and among ASEAN nations.

While the programme began in 2001, this is the first year in which the emphasis is on the application of ICT for the development and achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

The eight MDGs – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest.

The scholarships will cover all the costs associated with the students’ study at DJU for up to one academic year. As part of the programme, UN-APCICT will deliver courses on the role of ICT in national development and regional technical cooperation to achieve the MDGs.

In addition, a short-term internship at UN-APCICT will be offered to five students. Under the guidance of professional staff members of UN-APCICT, the students will develop in-depth papers on the state of ICT for development and capacity building initiatives in their respective countries.

Tuesday’s orientation for the students, hosted by DJU, will be given by AUN, the Republic of Korea’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MOFAT) and UN-APCICT.


For the list of 2008 awardees, please visit:

For more information, please visit: and

UN-APCICT The United Nations Asian and Pacific Training Centre for Information and Communication Technology (UN-APCICT) is a subsidiary body of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) and is located in Incheon, Republic of Korea. APCICT aims to strengthen the efforts of the member countries of ESCAP to use ICT in their socio-economic development through building human and institutional capacity for ICT.

AUN The ASEAN University Network (AUN) was established in November 1995 by the ministers responsible for higher education in ASEAN countries. The AUN is established as a mechanism to help enhance the solidarity and development of regional identity through the promotion of the existing network of leading universities and higher education institutions in the ASEAN region. The AUN is made up of 21 leading universities nominated by the concerned ministries from ten ASEAN countries.

Daejeon University Daejeon University (DJU), established in 1981 is recognized as one of the fastest growing universities in the Republic of Korea. DJU consists of eight colleges, one graduate school and four professional graduate schools, covering 50 major disciplines. It serves more than 12,000 students from the Republic of Korea and other countries in South-East Asia and worldwide.